top of page
Search
  • neuappllc

Practicality of Using the Emotiv Insight Headset While Exercising


Throughout the past week I have had the opportunity to work with our Emotiv Insight headset, a 5 channel EEG wearable designed for Brain Computer Interface (BCI). With its simple set-up procedure, I was able to put together the headset, connect to my computer, and begin tracking my brain activity within minutes. And so, I was able to run a simple experiment using the headset at the gym in a mere 15 minutes. First, I recorded my brain activity for 5 minutes while sitting at rest. Then, I hopped on an exercise bike and recorded my brain activity for 5 minutes of steady state cardio. Upon a simple analysis of these two recordings, one can clearly see a difference in my alpha brainwave activity, the brainwaves associated with motion.




As one can see in the pictures, the setup is very simple and the headset is comfortable enough to wear while exercising without getting in the way or becoming an annoyance. After the initial awkwardness of putting on the headset and adjusting the prongs so that I received 100% connection, as indicated by the Emotiv App, the headset fit snug and comfortably. I wasn’t worried about it falling off or moving around on my head, nor was I itching to remove it. Therefore, the data that the headset returned was quite impressive for such a comfortable and non-invasive wearable device. This technology, along with NeuApp’s expertise in surveying the data and applying it to athlete’s training programs, should help any athlete go that extra mile!

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page